First Oval Office Speech for Obama, Hmmm?


I don’t know what to write about this speech. While watching I took a step back and looked at myself and realized that I was looking at the television like a dog looks at an annoying noise, with my head cocked 4 inches to the left, needless to say, I was a bit perplexed. Not by the big words of the amazing president, but rather the base and overused rhetoric, in a speech that I feel like I’ve heard before.

When I started writing this I was watching the Celtics take on the Lakers, and I could have no more helped the Celtics beat the Lakers than the president can stop the oil from leaking out of that hole. So while this is supposed to comfort me and put me at ease, it accomplishes none of that. He dropped some names, told us who was supposed to aid in the process and let us know that BP was going to get it. But I have a feeling we’re going to be waiting for this relief well to be dug before it stops.

When we are faced with big problems it takes big people to say that they working on the problem and doing their best to fix it without pushing the blame on to someone else, until all the facts are in. Something the President did twice tonight, first by blaming BP and secondly by blaming the Bush administration for this problem. When, from what I know, we really don’t have all of the facts.

The warlike talk and cliché “we can put a man on the moon” stuff just gets to be a bit annoying and repetitive. Oil is not an enemy, oil does not have a mind of its own and oil is not plotting to destruct the shores of this country. Can anyone honestly say that BP wanted this to happen? But of course we all know that every corporation really wants to kill 11 people, endanger The Gulf of Mexico and have to pay for the clean up, oh, and don’t forget ruining their brand. I mean, I’ll say flat out that corporations care about money, and the last thing they want to do is lose any it. But if it turns out that they were corrupt and they are responsible for this disaster the so be it, take them down. But if it turns out that it was just a freak accident then how can you hold someone accountable for that?

The real question I have to ask myself is whether or not the claim that more government regulation would have prevented this from happening is true or false. The President doesn’t even know. And to be completely honest, I don’t know right now, so I take no position. Here’s to hoping that in the coming months we will know more about this, but right now the good old American way of “innocent til proven guilty” should prevail, but its not. The Obama administration has already tried and convicted BP. I’d like to know the Presidents solution to the problem of the corrupt self regulating oil companies that showered regulators with gifts. Is the solution to have the federal government now play a larger role in regulating these oil rigs, because we know that no politician or government bureaucrat has ever been bought and sold or showered with gifts, just ask Joe Sestak.

Leave a Reply

