Political Debate and Inheriting Parents Money


I am fascinated by political debate, so I’ve decided to tackle some issues that come up in political debates and write what I think about them. I’ll do this every now and then for a while and see how it works out. You’ll probably see me ask questions of myself and answer them within the post.

Getting “Daddies money” OR Inheriting your Parents Wealth: Should I have a problem with this? Is this a good thing?

I have no problem with a person that wants to live off their parents money, provided their parents have a lot of money and they’re able to give their children that life. If you have a rich mother or father and they want to give you some of their doe, or a lot of their doe, or all of their doe, so you never have to work again for the rest of your life, then that’s just fine with me.

Everyone seems to throw this one out there when you start talking about some of the more wealthy individuals in this country. “He’s just in that position because his daddy gave him everything!” Or, “She didn’t work for those clothes, her mommy paid for them!” What a credit that is to our country! People get their panties in a bunch when they realize that someone hasn’t worked hard for what they have, and they say that its a bad thing. It just goes to show that in our country we value work and we want people to work hard for a living, I like that about America, and I actually agree with their complaint. But its always particularly interesting when you hear this coming from the left. The same left that pushes this notion that we need the federal government to do more for us, that some of us are victims, that the government needs to provide us with more entitlements. Yet they oppose this same action when it happens within a family? I don’t get it!

Whether or not I believe that it is a good thing for a person and society is a whole different issue. Is this a good lifestyle for someone? Probably not. I don’t think that it is good for people to get everything they want for free. I think a person should work for what they own. And I think it makes for a better society if people get real jobs and work their way up the ladder of success. But, again, this goes back to the heart of the issue. Is it really my business what private citizens do with their money? No. Should I really care what is happening between John Smith and John Smith Jr.? No.

I’m in favor of a country where we want our fellow citizens to work, because that means they are not living on my dime, and I like it that way. But I’m also equally in favor of letting people do what they want with their money, and if that means giving it to their kids, then so be it. That’s just a credit to our country, that we have a place where this is possible. Its none of my business what you do with your money, or what your father does with his money. It is my business what the government does with my money.

Am I allowed make negative judgment of a politician that has never held a real job in his or her whole life without being a hypocrite? I say yes. Its one thing for me to criticize you, a regular citizen, for rightfully taking advantage of a system that allows you to do so, that’s none of my business. But its not wrong for me to desire a politician, a servant to the people, to have a certain amount of experience in the private sector. If my job as a voter is to find and vote for someone that I think is qualified for the job, and one of my qualifications is a politician that has held a real job and worked for a living, then so be it.

Leave a Reply

