Incompetent Politicians, Its Not A Conspiracy


A lot of people spend their whole lives hiding from the truth and the reality of good and evil. They might drink too much, do some drugs, or turn off the news and hide from the world. One way of doing it is believing in conspiracy theories, but instead of denying reality, conspiracy theorists make a U-turn and accept just about anything. Everything becomes embellished and there must be a secret reason why everything is happening.

When the country was going through the Cold War the future was very uncertain. For some, when they went to bed at night they didn’t know if they would wake up the next day, or, if when they did wake up, the world would be completely different or half of the world would be missing. That uncertainty led to a strange panic. The country, and the world for that matter, wallowed in this panic stricken state for just abut five decades. So for me its no surprise that people tend to make up stories, its all because they’re panicking.

Science fiction really took off during the Cold War, people were really enamored by what seemed to be endless possibilities, while at the same time it helped them cope, because more often than not the subject matter was very timely. In the 50’s and 60’s, only a short time after WW2, the country had shows like The Twilight Zone. Red Serlings creation often dealt with totalitarianism, despotic regimes, social issues even aliens. Movies like The Day The Earth Stood Still and The Invasion of the Body Snatchers could be considered allegorical tales of the times. And even the B monster movies like Them and The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms could be considered hyperbolic statements about what was going on in the world at that time. And it was that hyperbole that made the world not seem so bad for 100 to 80 minutes.

These days the Cold War is over but that hyperbolic reality still lives on. There have been no shortage of conspiracy theories regarding the United States government and the governments of the world. There have been no shortage of alien sightings or ghost stories. And as a person that actually believes in the supernatural most of these tales tend to be laughable. But the one that I feel needs most to be addressed is in regard to the U.S. government.

There is no doubt in my mind that the government wants to take over my life. They don’t trust me with my own money, they think they can spend it better. They don’t trust me to choose the right health care for me. And they don’t like the truck I drive. And believe you me this kind of stuff makes me mad! But it does not make me delusional about who or what the US government is.

The United States government is a gigantic bureaucracy with so many levels that they don’t even know what is going on. The United States government operates, but it barley gets by, and half the time they don’t know what they are doing. The United States government is far too big, too unorganized and frankly just too stupid to scheme and plot the things that some conspiracy minded individuals would have you believe. They can hardly hire and fire employees and they have an extremely hard time balancing the books. You have career politicians like Ted Kennedy and Arlene Specter who care more about being elected than they do about doing their jobs. In short, the same narcissism that runs rampant in the real world, also runs rampant in Washington.

Do I fear an overarching government? You bet I do! But not because I am afraid of a one world government or a new world order, because with the second amendment I still think the citizens in this country have the upper hand. I fear an overarching government because I don’t want these idiots running my life. Seriously, a lot of these people can’t even run their own families or businesses, do you honestly think I want these people to come into my life and tell me what to do. And not only that, I have principals that I hold too dear, and its called a love of liberty. I love the freedom that I have in this country, and every time one of those incompetent politicians in Washington tells me that they know what’s best for me, I use my God given first amendment right and shout back. No! You do not know what is best for me, only I know that!

So lets cross bridges when we come to them. If we invest all of our energy in fighting an evil that does not yet exist we might miss the opportunity to fight the one that already does exist. We need to learn from the past and be concerned with the present. The future is yet to come. Take to heart a quote from one of my favorite books, “do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

2 Responses to “Incompetent Politicians, Its Not A Conspiracy”

  1. I really have to agree about the incompetence of government. Politicians are not at all qualified to solve real problems. They have no special skills to call upon to make difficult and important decisions. The bottom line is that not even the people of the US know what’s best of themselves most of the time. These people vote for politicians who are an unqualified as they are because they empathize with them in their ignorance. While half the country whines about tradition, millions die of diseases which could have been treated or cured via stem cell research, a methodology opposed by red necks for no reason other than that they “think it’s wrong”. People in this country refuse to listen to the most qualified among them when it comes to important decisions, or sadly, even decisions which should never have come into question, such as gay marriage, which is guaranteed by the constitution (pursuit of happiness). It is insulting to me that I have to dependent on incompetent people to run the country in which I live. It is nauseating.

    • Actually, I don’t really care if they are “qualified” I care if I share their values. Generally people think to be qualified you need to have a degree or be part of the educated elite, I don’t really care about that kind of stuff.

      On your marriage comments, heterosexual marriage is not even a constitutional “right” so I don’t see how gay marriage is either. Sorry, but you’re wrong on that one.

      Nonetheless, thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

