Dear Responsibility, Where Were You All My Life?


So as some of you may know, I finally moved out of the parents house and moved in with a couple of buddies. Lately I have become overly responsible, almost to a point that I don’t know who I am. I mean sweeping the porch and washing dishes is not my idea of a fun day, but  that’s what I’ve been doing on my day’s off. Where did this sudden burst of responsibility come from?

There was a time (a couple months ago) when I lacked some responsibility, but now it seems as though those day’s are gone. I think a lot of it might be due to a lack of money. If I have to pay for my rent, my cell phone, the utilities, my car, and my insurance I basically can’t really do anything that costs money, outside of shopping at Wal-mart and paying for gas, maybe playing some pool, at .75 cents a game its not that painful to the pocket book. So that keeps me in the house a lot, and when your at the house you might as well make it a better place to live, right?

Back in the day (again 2 months ago) I was a dish dirtier. I compiled dishes in my room and would one day bring them out to the dishwasher, which happened to be my mother. And that’s just how it went down in my house and she was usually not very happy about tons of old crusty dishes. Now I am a fellow dishwasher with my roommates here and it seems as though I will not let a dirty dish go without being washed. I mean come on, the other night I didn’t leave the house until all the dishes were done. What is wrong with me! I’m cleaning counters and I even clean the hair out of the sink in the bathroom after I shave.

I’m slowly finding out that a lot of the things I thought I was, I no longer am. I guess that is part of growing up. We must take on new tasks and start new journeys that require us to work just a little bit harder to make them work out the best for us.

One Response to “Dear Responsibility, Where Were You All My Life?”

  1. Woo Hoo! I am sure that Lisa is equally shocked. I await the day that Zach has this realization….Not that I am wanting him to move but I willbe glad when the barrage of dirty dishes and towels are no longer coming from his room once a month. LOL

Leave a Reply

