Tech Update 2


Ping.fm

I have to credit blogger TucsonSammy for showing me Ping.fm. Ping.fm gives you the ability to post the same update messages on different sites simultaneously. I use it to update my facebook and my twitter page at the same time. But in the future I will start looking at way’s to use Ping.fm with WordPress, so I can take advantage of it on my blog. Go to the website and check it out, if your into social networking and you don’t want to have to update them all at different times this is great for you.

Ping.fm Homepage

ZaraRadio

Ok, so if you know anything about how radio automation works this is going to be great for you. I learned the basics of this program in about 2 minutes. If you don’t know anything about radio automation software this will be slightly more complicated, but a lot less complicated than the stuff that real radio stations use. Zararadio is perfect for a pod caster or web radio show host. If you are a good multi-tasker you might be able to pre-load an hour of breaks and do your show alone.

It has some good features. There is a clock, also instant info on the date, temperature and humidity, a very large cue window, and an easy way drag and drop files into the cue, so the interface is fairly easy to use. There are a lot of express buttons for quick and easy instant sound clips. It play’s wmv, mp3 and ogg files. The log feature takes note of everything you do if you’d like to go back and look at something that played. Something that I’ve not used is the DTMF tone detector, but it sounds like an interesting plus for a free program, it gathers tones that satellite programs emit to know when to get to go to a break. Another interesting feature is the “talk over” function which takes audio down in order for an announcer to talk over it, and would really aid anyone that is running a show or acting as a DJ on their own. Other features include password protect, event schedulers, track crossfade, end of song detector, and five players (1 main + 4 aux).

There are some things that I’d like to see. First is a way to trigger the cue via the keyboard, it would make for easier and a more effective error free way to start commercials or songs. Saving the title of your “jingles” page is slightly annoying and actually saving a setup in the cue did not work out for me the first time I tried it, but I might have to try it again once I have a different computer setup. I am not a fan of the list of files on the left side of the screen, I’d prefer a more friendly way to look at your files.

Overall, this is a great free program, I’ve tried many free automation programs and they all tend to be beta programs or “free to try” so they only give you half of the features. ZaraRadio gives you all of the features and makes for a good program.

The ZaraRadio Homepage

Screenshots

Leave a Reply

