DNC (The Defeatists National Convention)


So Sen. Obama’s VP pick is Joe Biden. I’m one of those young voters out there, but surprisingly I am not going to vote for the most popular guy among my young friends. I suppose that’s how I’ve always been, I mean my favorite things to listen to are Sinatra and Dylan, I guess I’m just an old soul, so the old guy isn’t all that bad to me.

To elaborate on Sen. Obama’s choice, I have to say that I honestly don’t know that much about the guy. Thankfully in the internet age it doesn’t take much Youtube searching to find out that much of what he believes counters what I believe.

If you watch the news at all, your going to hear that Biden is the best choice for Obama because of his foreign policy expertise. Just as I heard another reveal, that this is an admission by the Obama team that he is weak on foreign policy. Well, if Biden is a guy with such a great foreign policy record, why did he, along with Obama, continually call for Vietnam era foreign policy when it comes to the surge strategy in Iraq? A policy that says if your getting beat, we (Washington politicians who are not on the ground) know what is better than the generals who are actually guiding and fighting the war. So Biden’s alleged strength in the foreign policy area remains about as weak as Obama’s, because of their lack of good judgment in regard to the troop surge in Iraq. They were not willing to even give it a chance before they called it a failure. Here is video of Biden, only a year ago, give it about 30 seconds before you hear the defeatist mentality.

(I had a video of Biden talking about the surge)

All of this is coming on the heels of this week, nearly a year after the Petraeus hearings in September of 2007, a week that produced a much different story in regards to Iraq than that of a year ago. When I go back and watch the Petraeus hearings last September and I see Biden questioning the general on military operations in Iraq, I can tell that Biden is completely banking on the surge being a failure, and the U.S. running into the same problems that we ran into through out the whole beginning of the Iraq war. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, we screwed up for the first half of the operation and the surge was a way to fix what we screwed up and win. And what happened when they were wrong? Well Obama still won’t admit that he got it wrong, but nonetheless, they get a chance to become president and vice president. And now for the next week, during the Democratic convention, we get to hear praises of Biden’s foreign policy, when he and Obama continue to have the same opinion on the surge. The surge that now might have made it possible to start bringing our troops home in victory and not defeat.

Leave a Reply

